Can I build a fire on the beach?
No, Open fires on the beach are not allowed. Cooking on the beach using a charcoal grill or similar device is allowed.
Is driving a vehicle on the beach allowed?
Licensed four-wheel drive vehicles may be operated on the very south end of the beach strand between October 1st and March 31st (or the Thursday before Easter, whichever is earlier) for fishing only. A permit is required which can be purchased at the Topsail Beach Police Department during normal business hours. Fees are $25 for Topsail Beach property owners or residents and $50 for all others. Please contact the Topsail Beach Police Department for a complete list of the rules and regulations pertaining to driving on the beach. Dune buggies and ATV's are not allowed on the beach.
Is horse riding allowed on the beach?
Is there a place of worship in Topsail Beach?
When is "Autumn with Topsail"?
Sponsored by the Topsail Island Historical Society, the "Autumn With Topsail" festival is held during the third weekend of October. Please visit their web site, www.autumnwithtopsail.com, for complete details.
When is trash collected?
Trash collection is scheduled for every Monday year-round. During the summer months, Memorial Day until Labor Day, there is an extra collection on Thursday mornings.
Vegetative debris and large household items such as appliances and bedding are collected the first Friday of the month. During the summer months, Memorial Day through the week of Labor Day, there is an extra collection on the third Friday of the month. No construction materials of any kind or wooden furniture is included in this special pick up.
Where are the public beach/sound access?
The following link will provide you with an interactive map of all NC beach accesses:
Are dogs allowed on the beach?
Yes, dogs are allowed, but they must be on a leash 20 ft or less from May 15th through September 30th. At other times the dog must be under voice command of a responsible person, but does not have to be on a leash. The person must always be prepared to remove any "deposits" left by the dog. These regulations apply to the entire town including the beach.
THE POOP SCOOP
Can I drive a golf cart in Topsail Beach?
Golf Carts are not permitted to operate on any state or town owned streets within the Town of Topsail Beach. Low-speed vehicles designated and registered as such by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles are permitted on streets or roadways where the posted speed limit is no greater than 35 mph other than North or South Anderson which may only be used to cross over to another street. Low-speed vehicles must properly display a valid North Carolina Registration plate, and are subject to the State’s motor vehicle laws. Please refer to the police page on this website for detailed information concerning the operation of low-speed vehicles in Topsail Beach.
Can I get married on the beach?
The Town of Topsail Beach welcomes anyone who would like to have a beach wedding. There is no charge and no permit is required unless you plan to use amplification equipment during your event, including ceremony and reception. Outdoor Entertainment Permits require approval by the Town Manager and the Chief of Police not less than one day in advance of the event date. Refer to the Outdoor Entertainment Permit for detailed information.
During the tourist season, May through September, parking will be limited. The wedding party and guests should be aware that the public's access to the beach cannot be restricted for the wedding, cars must be parked completely off all paved streets and walking on or disturbing the dunes is not allowed. Contact the Topsail Beach Police Department at 910-328-4851 and advise of your event date, location, and contact information in case of an emergency.
PENDER COUNTY TOURISM WEDDING BROCHURE
How do I obtain a burn permit?
Burn Permits are required for all outdoor burning. The only exceptions are:
(1) Grill fires for the purpose of cooking food; and
(2) Fires in metal drums (e.g., 55-gallon) on construction sites, provided they are used to warm workers and/or tools and are completely extinguished before the last worker leaves the site.
Burn Permits are issued by the Fire Department and Police Department. There is no fee for the permit. For a complete list of Regulations please see section 12-8 - Burning regulations of the Town Code.
About Topsail Beach
Things to Do
820 S. Anderson Blvd., Topsail Beach, NC 28445 | Phone: 910-328-5841 | Fax: 910-328-1560
© Topsail Beach, NC. All Rights Reserved. Site designed by: Granite Sky Civic